2012 Home Tour
2012 Fall Home Tour Preview IV
PDF Print E-mail
Stevens Wood Court - West Kessler

 

Nestled behind the carefully landscaped entrance you will find a 2,400 square-foot, three-level domicile built in 1953. This unique West Kessler home has had all the windows reworked, a few doors and walls removed and replaced, and a stairwell extension added, yet retains its primary structure as well as its original oak wood flooring.

On the ground floor are the living room, kitchen, master bedroom and bath. The living room’s original fireplace has been refaced into a lovely tile wall surrounding the main feature. The kitchen has been remodeled with nearly 100% repurposed European materials.



As you descend to the next level, down the original staircase, you’ll find an en suite. The bathroom retains original ‘50s flair while the bedroom has had an additional sliding glass door added to provide access to the patio/jacuzzi spaces that flow into a well-tended backyard.
 
2012 Fall Home Tour Preview V
PDF Print E-mail
Kessler Pkwy - Kessler Park



Perched high above Kessler Parkway, this 1951 mid-century modern home was designed by prominent Dallas architect Herschel Fischer. Originally 2 bedroom, 1 and ½ bath, the design was heavily influenced after discussion with renowned Bauhaus Movement architect Marcel Breuer. With an addition in the 1960s, the home was on the Old Oak Cliff Conservation League Home Tour in the early 1990s.

The current owner began an extensive renovation in 2004. Careful to maintain the original modernist character of the home where a house is a “machine for living”, the current work accentuates the circular flow and highlights the “treehouse” experience.



The home’s exterior is stucco with steel windows and a standing seam metal roof. As part of the current renovation the driveway was replaced and widened adding architectural rock features and cantilevered stairs between levels. Lowering the carport foundation made the space more usable for vehicles and visitors. For aesthetic and practical reasons, the hillside was carved back and river rock retaining walls added.
 
2012 Fall Home Tour Preview II
PDF Print E-mail
Barberry Dr. - Stevens Park Village



The Stevens Park Village neighborhood is the location of this home, which is a cottage built in the 1940s. It has 1,250 square-feet and originally had the typical 2 bedrooms and one bath layout of the post-war era. In the January edition of D Magazine, this house was featured in a multi-page write up and called a “small marvel”. The owners are professional designers and decorators who at first thought to restore a deteriorated house to sell, but after using their expertise to produce such a delightful product, decided that it was their dream home and kept it for themselves.



On entering the living room, you will notice that it is filled with art, some of which was painted by one of the owners. The walls are covered with grass cloth and the ceiling is painted Wyeth blue. The original fire place is still there, but a beautiful sculptured tile surround is now installed. Those tiles came from a job and as found objects joined many others used throughout the home by the practical owners.
 
2012 Fall Home Tour Preview III
PDF Print E-mail
Tyler St. Methodist - Happy 100th Anniversary!



According to Dallas Morning News records, congregants of Tyler Street Methodist Episcopal Church (orginal name) began meeting in 1911 at the home of W.O. Forrester at 511 W.Tenth St. until the group outgrew their space. In 1912, a “neat frame structure” was erected at Sunset and Tyler for a value of $10,000. Their first service was held there on July 7, 1912.

Work on the current structure at Polk and Tenth began on April 11, 1921. A complete basement with an auditorium was completed first and served as home for the congregation during construction.


 
2012 Fall Home Tour Preview I
PDF Print E-mail
S. Clinton - Winnetka Heights



This 1927 Winnetka Heights Arts and Crafts bungalow was once owned by a well-known local opera singer and a door to door salesman who traveled by horse drawn carriage.. In the late 1970's, the building was updated and much of the home's original character including doors, windows, casings, cabinets, tile and fixtures were lost. Used mainly for storage for the last ten years, the home had been largely uninhabited and neglected. Roof leaks had badly penetrated some of the rooms, damaging the floors. The structure had sunken severely and the home's frame had weakened and was tilting slightly southward. A poorly constructed 450 square foot addition was hopeless.



The primary goal with renovation was to restore the Arts and Crafts elements lost in the 1970’s and address the structural issues that threatened the home’s future. The old addition was demolished, foundation repaired and leaning addressed. Next an 1161 square foot addition was added. A true masonry fireplace, using antique brick from another 1920's home was built in the new family room of this addition.
 
<< Start < Prev 1 2 Next > End >>
Page 1 of 2