| From the early 1900's until 1951, the No. 4 Streetcar stopped at the corner of Bishop Avenue and West Seventh Street before heading west toward Edgefield Avenue. One of the most thriving trolley car stops in Dallas in its day, this commercial district grew up around this stop and the buildings still remain.
In 1990, the District, with its 12 acres and 20 buildings, was added to the National Registry of Historic Places. The area is becoming one of the most vibrant accessible areas in the city and is reacquaiting many Dallasites with Old Oak Cliff.
Please visit the Bishop Arts Merchant's Website or Wikipedia for more information.
Bishop Arts District on November 4th, 2008.
Get a limited edition book about old Oak Cliff
Filled with wonderful pictures of fine historic buildings and street scenes, this book shares stories about the beginnings of this great, iconic area of Dallas.
"The Hidden City - Oak Cliff, Texas"
by Bill Minutaglio, Holly Williams